Return to Headlines

CMSD Recognizes Administrator and Teachers of the Year

CMSD Recognizes Administrator and Teachers of the Year 

Parents and Kids"-  a premiere parenting and family resource magazine located here in Mississippi, recently featured our scho

Educators. They mentor and motivate, inspire and innovate.  But what makes for a great educator? As poet William Butler Yeats once said, “Education is the not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” For great examples of those who spark the love of learning in CMSD students, look no further than the 8 men and women who have been selected as the 2019-2020 Administrator and Teachers of the Year.

     On Thursday, January 23, 2020 the school board of CMSD recognized this year's recipients of Administrator and Teachers of the Year awards. This group of outstanding individuals have made an indelible impact on their students and colleagues and for this WE THANK YOU!


District Administrator of the Year- Cornishee Bruce

District Teacher of the Year- Jeannie Butler

Heidelberg Elementary School- Jeannie Butler

J. W. Stampley Freshman Academy- Johnny Maddox

Booker T. Washington- Franchon Freeman

George H. Oliver- Candace Barron

Oakhurst Intermediate Academy- 

Kirkpatrick Elementary- Jessica Johnson

W. A. Higgins Middle School- Izora Baltys

Clarksdale High School- Freddie Davis